Cream of The Crap

Music, movies, gadgets and just random things. The Creme de La Creme, of Crap!

Before Sunset

leave a comment »

Before Sunset (2004) is an American film, the sequel to the film Before Sunrise (1995). Like its predecessor, the film was directed by Richard Linklater.

Nine years have passed since the events of Before Sunrise, when Jesse (Hawke) and Celine (Delpy) had met in Vienna. Since then, Jesse has written a novel, This Time, inspired by his time in Vienna with Celine, and the book has become an American best-seller with Jesse doing a book tour. The last stop of the tour across Europe is Paris, and Jesse is doing a reading at the bookstore Shakespeare and Company. As Jesse talks with his audience, flashbacks are seen of him and Celine in Vienna; the memories of their night together have clearly remained with him despite it being nine years later. Celine appears in the audience and sees him and he, in turn, recognizes her. Jesse has a short time before his plane departs, and invites Celine to share it with him. 

or..What the Hell Hapenned to You, Celine??

or..What the Hell Hapenned to You, Celine??

Okay, I admit, Before Sunrise and Before sunset are two very hard movies to argue with. Even if I did not like it, I can’t say why. I don’t really know. 

I guess, then we go 9 years from the first film, and watch their reunion in real time. The movie also sets 9 years from when they first met, and as the flashbacks of the first film plays, you see how much age has taken its toll on Julie Delpy and I would’ve said the same with Ethan Hawke, but he is seksi as hell. So as the move plays out, we see two people having a conversation and it gets more personal this time, because their in their thirties, and time is shorter now than last time.

So I guess, what would you do if you had a second chance with the one that got away. That, amigo, is the movie tag line, and it captures the essentiality of this movie. So I guess we’d have to have the cliche of unhappy marriages and relationships because we need to feel less guilty of feeling so good about meeting the woman that you wrote a book about. I guess every one deserves a woman or man that got away that you can think to yourself, I think she could’ve been the one. But this movie skips all the complexities of a relationship and just picks up on, I really like you, even more than 9 years ago. So let’s just keep talking.

I relate to this movie. People are just people, they like to throw away what they have for a chance of finding greater happiness, truer love, better conersations, wilder sex. I would disagree on some parts, but if 9 years ago I had an American fuckbuddy who’s also a suave talker, plus he’s unhppy with hs marriage, so I might be doing him a favor right, and my boyfriend is away, and plus I don’t really like my boyfriend that much anyways, so maybe I..

never mind. I have become mushy over these movies and then, after I gave it some thought, I have turned almost robotic. My romanticism is fucked.

Lets just say this movie is as dope as its prequel.

Written by strangelittlegirl

April 4, 2009 at 4:14 am

Leave a comment